Guess What?

I picked up my youngest son, Gus, the other day after school. He still likes to talk to us even though he is now officially a teenager and should be entering the taciturn years where we have to pry discussion out of him.
“Guess what I got on my math test today?” he said.
Well, I know he has an 85% going in math, it’s his favorite class but his lowest grade. But I wanted to guess lower than that so he could correct me upwards. “Um, 83%?”
“No, higher.”
“91%?”
“No lower.”
The score turned out to be an 87%. It was a simple, enjoyable conversation. I think he could give lessons to other teenagers.
Twenty minutes later I heard him upstairs, talking to his dad, “guess what I got on my math test today?”

DSC_0074

Leave a Reply

